Thursday, February 16, 2012


Black Roots
Black Roots were a roots reggae band from the St. Paul's area of Bristol, England formed in 1979. They released several albums before splitting up in 1990.
The original line-up of the band included Errol Brown (vocals), Delroy O'Gilvie (vocals), Kondwani Ngozi (congas, vocals), Jabulani Ngozi (rhythm guitar), Cordell Francis (lead guitar), Trevor Seivwright (drums), and Derrick King (bass guitar). They soon got into routine of regular performances across the UK and appeared on the first Rockers Roadshow television programme broadcast of Channel 4. Their first (self-titled) album was released on their own Nubian label, and the band was commissioned by the BBC to write and record the theme song to the sitcom The Front Line. They also recorded several sessions for BBC radio, including sessions for John Peel's show in 1981 and 1983 and additional sessions for David Jensen, and these were issued on the In Session album in 1985 by the BBC. They toured Europe with Eek-A-Mouse and Linton Kwesi Johnson, and performed at the WOMAD Festival in 1985. The band's third album, All Day All Night was produced by Mad Professor and featured Vin Gordon. Several more albums followed, the last, Natural Reaction, in 1990. The band then ceased to exist as a touring concern, although several dub albums were released based on their earlier work.
Singer O'Gilvie later formed a new band, Orange Street, and released a solo album, Farm Digging, in 2005.
Bass guitarist Derrick King died on 30 April 2011 at at Frenchay Hospital from respiratory failure, after suffering from Motor Neurone Disease for some time.

Origin: Bristol, England, UK
Genres: Reggae
Years active: 1979–1990
Labels: Kick, Nubian
Past members: Errol Brown, Delroy O'Gilvie, Kondwani Ngozi, Jabulani Ngozi, Cordell Francis, Trevor Seivwright, Derrick King.

Black Roots

Black Roots


Black Roots picture

Black Roots wallpapers


No comments:

Post a Comment